Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Beach House Reunion by Mary Alice Monroe


Two women coming home for two different reasons to the place they loved and the place with many memories.

Linnea had finished college, and Cara was coming home to be with family.

Linnea came home from college and had no choice but to return, and really didn’t want to be in her childhood home with all the drama and the rules.

Cara came home because her husband had passed away a few years earlier, she adopted a friend’s baby, and she wanted to have her daughter grow up where she grew up with family and summer beach memories.

Both women needed something, and with Linnea being Cara’s niece, the problem was solved because Linnea was going to be Cara’s nanny.  That would save Linnea from staying with her parents all summer and would be a warm remembrance of her childhood times at the beach house, Primrose Cottage.   Cara would get to spend time with her niece to catch up and have someone to finally help her so she wasn’t alone.

BEACH HOUSE REUNION was a very pleasant, heartwarming read that made you want to for the most part be in the Rutledge family and in Primrose Cottage as well as Sullivan's Island.

Everything about the book was comfy and inviting.

The characters and the beachy setting were quite pleasant.

Learning about loggerheads, surfing, seeing the love between family members and others, and joining in the family fun are some of the reasons you will want to read this book.

I actually want to learn more about the sea turtles (loggerheads). It sounded fascinating, and the excitement the characters had about them had me wanting to learn more.

BEACH HOUSE REUNION is an easy, sweet read that will be a perfect addition to your summer reading list. 5/5

This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher and NetGalley in return for an honest review.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Spotlight and Giveaway of Best Beach Ever by Wendy Wax




************ 
All information in this post is courtesy of Danielle Keir of Penguin Random House and an e-mail from Wendy Wax.  
************
Celebrating The Release Of

 BEST BEACH EVER
BY
WENDY WAX

On Sale May 22, 2018

The next novel in the binge-worthy, bestselling Ten Beach Road series about a group of women who renovate houses, build friendships, and fix their personal lives in the process.
************
Praise for the Novels of Wendy Wax:

“If you’re a sucker for plucky women who rise to the occasion, this is for you.”—USA Today
 
“Fans of Jane Green and Mary Alice Monroe will adore Wax's lively characters, witty dialogue, and heartfelt prose.”—Booklist 
 
“Wax’s Florida titles [the Ten Beach Road novels] are terrific for lovers of women’s fiction and family drama, especially if you enjoy a touch of suspense and romance.”—Library Journal 
 
[Wax] writes with breezy wit and keen insight.”—The Atlanta Journal Constitution
 ***********
About The Book:


When author Wendy Wax started writing the story of Ten Beach Road set on the backdrop of St. Petersburg, Florida, about a group of women who renovate houses almost seven years ago, she did not intend on writing a series. 

In fact, the first book, Ten Beach Road, was supposed to be a standalone novel. It was not until the book was finished and Wendy and her readers became so attached to Madeline, Avery, and Nikki—three strangers who found an unexpected sisterhood in restoring a house and reinventing themselves together—that she was compelled to continue their story.

Since then, the USA Today bestselling series has garnered even more devoted fans, inspiring them to follow the lead of the ladies of Ten Beach Road and toast to their own “one good thing” at the end of each day, whether that’s enjoying the company of friends or channeling Avery and adding a daily dose of cheese doodles into their lives.

Now, in her sixth book in a series that was inspired by her own childhood summers, Wax picks up where One Good Thing left off in BEST BEACH EVER (Berkley Trade Paperback Original; May 22, 2018; $16.00). Fans will delight in catching up with familiar beloved characters and new readers will have no problem sinking into the witty and uplifting story that’s equal parts authentic and charming. 

After a recent forced move and the loss of their renovation reality TV show Do Over, the friends of Ten Beach Road—Maddie, Nikki, Avery, Kyra, and Bitsy—think things can’t get any worse, but they soon discover just how uncertain their futures are.

Each of them has their own challenge to face. Maddie struggles with dating a rock star whose career has taken off again while Nikki faces the daunting realities of mothering twins at forty-seven. Avery buries herself in a tiny home build to avoid commitment issues, and Kyra fights to protect her son from the Hollywood world she once dreamed of joining. And Bitsy is about to find out whether the rewards of seeking revenge will outweigh the risks.

Luckily, the women of Ten Beach Road know that their friendship can get them through anything. And if there’s one thing they know for sure, it’s that there’s nothing a fresh coat of paint and a few glasses of wine can’t fix. 

 The perfect read for HGTV addicts and fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Jane Green, BEST BEACH EVER is a warm and insightful look at the bonds of true friendship.
**********
About the Author:

Prior to writing, Wendy worked in radio, television and film, most notably as writer, producer and host of The Home Front, which aired on PBS station across the country, and as the host of a Friday night radio show called Desperate & Dateless when she was both.

The mother of a toddler and a newborn when she first decided to write, Wendy admits it may not have been the best timing in terms of productivity.  “I’m still not certain why I felt so compelled to write my first novel at that particular time,” she says, “but that first book took forever.”

In addition to her Ten Beach Road titles, Best Beach Ever, One Good Thing, Sunshine Beach, The House on Mermaid Point, Ocean Beach, Ten Beach Road and novellas, Christmas at the Beach and A Bella Flora Christmas, she is also the author of A Week at the Lake, While We Were Watching Downton AbbyMagnolia Wednesdays, The Accidental Bestseller, Hostile Makeover, Leave it to Cleavage, Single in Suburbia, and 7 Days and 7 Nights.

When not writing, Wendy visits with readers at bookstores and book events, reads, enjoys her and her husband’s newly empty nest and catches up with her sons on the serendipitous occasions when everyone ends up in the same place at the same time.

Wendy loves to hear from her readers! You can reach her at wendy@authorwendywax.com.

You can find more about her on her website here.
************
Giveaway:

I am partnering with Penguin Random House for this giveaway.

USA ONLY

May 22 - May 29

Enter here
************






Monday, May 21, 2018

The Endless Beach by Jenny Colgan


Flora quit her job as an attorney in London and moved back with her family on the Isle of Mure in the Scottish Highlands to work in the bakery.

Much to her surprise, her boss, Joel, decided to join her. 

Flora didn’t know what to expect, but she didn’t expect love.  She finds out Joel had a difficult childhood in foster care and doesn’t want to open up about it.  That is a secret Joel keeps, a secret that causes problems for him as well as Flora, but this definitely adds interest to the story line.

THE ENDLESS BEACH sounds like a wonderful place to vacation and relax.  I don’t think I would want to live there because of the remoteness, but the simple, stress free life would be lovely.

We follow Flora, Joel, Saif and Flora’s brothers as lives, interests, secrets, and personalities are revealed.  Each character had a story - some sad. some happy. 

It took a few pages to get everyone connected and to grab my interest, but the bakery, the whales, and the atmosphere on the Isle of Mure made it a very appealing read.

If you enjoy being in a quaint, lovely place and enjoy visiting with unforgettable, lovable characters, THE ENDLESS BEACH is a book you won’t want to miss. 4/5

This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher in return for an honest review.


It's Monday! What Are YOU Reading? - 5/21/2018

 http://bookdate.blogspot.com/
********************
I hope you had a great reading week.  
********************
This is a weekly meme hosted by Kathryn at BOOK DATE!

Post the books completed, the books you are currently reading, and the books you hope to finish at some point.

 *************
Books Completed:

LYING IN WAIT by Liz Nugent - review will be on May 29 - finished on May 19.

A psychological thriller you won't want to miss. An evil, cunning main character.

************
THE DYING OF THE LIGHT by Robert Goolrick - review will be on July 5, 2018 - finished May 17.

Another good Robert Goolrick read.

 
 ************
THE ENDLESS BEACH by Jenny Colgan - review will be on May 21 - finished May 13.

 
************
THE BANKER'S WIFE by Cristina Alger - review will be on July 3, 2018 - finished May 9.

Definitely could be real events.


************
SUMMER WIVES by Beatriz Williams - review will be on July 18, 2018 - finished May 7.

Good story line as always.



*************
BEFORE AND AGAIN by Barbara Delinsky - review will be on June 28, 2018 - finished on May 1. 

************
THE LOST FOR WORDS BOOKSHOP by Stephanie Butland - review will be on June 20, 2018 - finished April 25.

LOVED it...a book about books.


 ************
BEACH HOUSE REUNION by Mary Alice Monroe - review will be on May 23, 2018 - finished April 15. 

An easy, sweet read that will be a perfect addition to your summer reading list.

 
 ************
THREE DAYS MISSING by Kimberly Belle - review will be on June 26, 2018 - finished - April 8, 2018.

A fast-paced mystery.

 *************
BOARDWALK SUMMER by Meredith Jaeger - review will be on June 19, 2018 - finished on April 5, 2018. 

Absolutely LOVED this book.

*************
DREAMS OF FALLING by Karen White - review will be on June 5, 2018 - finished on March 28, 2018.

Excellent as always.
*************
PAPER GHOSTS by Julia Heaberlin - review is in the book's title.

  
 *************
Book Currently Reading

THE SUBWAY GIRLS by - review will be on July 10, 2018.


************
Books Up Next:

SOMEBODY'S DAUGHTER by David Bell - review will be on July 11.

************
PARIS EVER AFTER by K. S. R Burns - review will be on July 12, 2018.


************
GIRLS NIGHT OUT by Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke - review will be on July 24.


 
 ************
THE BOY AT THE DOOR by Alex Dahl - review will be on July 25.

 
 ************
A NOISE DOWNSTAIRS by Linwood Barclay - review will be on July 26, 2018.

 
 ************
TIFFANY BLUES by M. J. Rose - review will be on August 6, 2018.

 
************
OUR HOUSE by Louise Candlish - review will be on August 7, 2018.

 *************
THE MASTERPIECE by Fiona Davis - review will be on August 8, 2018.  LOVE her books.

 
 ************
THE DAY OF THE DEAD by Nicci French - review will be on August 9, 2018.

 
 ************
SOLD ON A MONDAY by Kristina McMorris - review will be on August 28.

*************
THE SUMMER SAIL by Wendy Francis - review will be on September 5, 2018.


 ************
THE LAST CAROUSEL OF PROVENCE by Juliet Blackwell - review will be on October 18, 2018.

************